After a DUI conviction, you might have Restricted License. There are different types of restricted licenses:
with some restricted to driver to work and an alcohol education class and
- others restricted to only drive while having an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car.
If you have a restricted license to drive only with an IID, you can drive anywhere, without being in a violation of the law.
A restriction on the driver’s license can be imposed after a court conviction or after a DMV hearing. As terms of a DUI probation, a driver can be ordered to comply with DMV orders. DUI Probation will include driving only with a restricted license for a period of time. Alternatively, even if there is no conviction and no DUI probation, a DUI driver might face a DMV hearing that can result in a DUI license suspension. A DMV hearing is a specialized administrative hearing that only decides if you are allowed to keep your California driver’s license. A DMV hearing takes place not in court, but in a driver safety office, a specialized office with the DMV. A DMV hearing can be by telephone or in person in front of a single hearing officer within driver safety. There are a number of Driver Safety Offices throughout the state, with Los Angeles DUI cases handled by either City of Commerce Driver Safety Office, Covina Driver Safety Office, El Segundo Driver Safety Office and Van Nuys Driver Safety Office. If you had an APS DMV hearing and the DMV decided to suspend your driver’s license, you can sometimes opt out to enroll in an alcohol education class and get your restricted driver’s license after a period of shorter mandatory suspension.
Restricted license with an IID is very different. Whether or not your qualify for an ignition interlock devise restriction depends on the type of the county of arrest. As of July 1, 2010, 4 counties in California became part of a pilot program to reduce drunk driving in the state. In Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento and Tulare counties, a driver with a DUI conviction have to install an ignition interlock devise to get a restricted license. The restricted license is issued for 5 month after a first offense DUI, for 12 month after a second offense DUI, for 24 month after a 3rd offense DUI, and for 36 month after a 4th or more offense DUI. For a DUI with injuries or vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated cases, the restricted license is issued for 12 month, 24 month, 36 month, and 48 month respectively.
Los Angeles DUI attorney will help you fight your DUI case to avoid negative effect it will have on your license. Restricted license is often not an option for drivers who operate vehicles they do not own or work on multiple vehicles. Drunk driving Los Angeles attorney can help minimize consequences after a Los Angeles DUI at the DMV and in Los Angeles DUI courts. Call Los Angeles DUI lawyer (818) 921 7744 for a free consultation at any time. We are ready to talk to you now. We offer competitive rate for a top notch representation.